The terrorist attacks

So, I went to work today after waking up to the horrible news that Norway had been attacked by a terrorist, the government buildings were smashed, my party office was smashed, people I know were hurt and some people were dead. When I left for work it was around 7 people dead they thought…

I first of all want to thank Disney for providing support through this time, we got an email at 3 pm about the all the help Disney could offer us, free phone lines to Norway, Disney´s own support in catastrophes etc was all ready and available for all the Norwegian Cast Members if we want it in the coming time. Our managers were also very clear on that we were allowed to use our phones at work today if we needed to get information or try to contact anyone, they lent some of us their phones to call back home as well. They offered helping out with tables if needed, they let the persons affected by this tragedy go home if they wanted to… Thank you so much!

Throughout the day I checked the news and Facebook a lot on my iPod, and got more shocking news every time. I was shocked and started to cry when I read it could be up to 30 people dead according to witnesses. In the end of the day when I was going to bank out, I read that the confirmed number was 80 people dead from the shooting at the youth camp. 7 people dead from the bomb with the government buildings in Oslo.

The person arrested is a strong right-winger, Norwegian man in his early 30´s who lived on Oslo west side his whole life with his mother… He is most likely the only person behind this insane terror attack. He have been planning this for a long time most likely, since he started a farming company some years ago which made it possible to get hold of big amounts of fertilizer.

I must admit that I also believed that it was someone of another ethnicity who did this against my country, but I was clear on that I would not become racist because of this, I know that there is bastards all over the world, and it does not matter if he is black, braun, white etc… An asshole is an asshole, no matter which ethnicity. But as I wrote in my first post this morning, I hoped it wouldn’t lead to a massive hate against immigrants… I realize that I apparently have some prejudice as well and Im sorry about that… Im sort off happy that it was a Norwegian person who did this, not that Im happy at all it happened, but it would lead to a total racist wave in Norway where we would take huge steps back in our tolerance and respect for each other as humans.

I have found out that most of my friends I know in Oslo and Utøya is all right through Facebook and phone. But yeah, I know some people that were injured and shot at. My thoughts go to all affected by this horrible incident!

This reminds me of the song played after the fireworks in Epcot:
We go on, through the joy and through the tears
We go on, moving forward, now as one
moving on, with a spirit born to run
ever on, with each rising sun
to a new day, we go on!

I am proud that we now stand together and condemn these actions and don’t play any cheap political points on this.

Om Alexander Sjursæther

This is a blog about my life as a Cultural Representative at the Norwegian Pavillion in Epcot 2011.
Dette innlegget ble publisert i Uncategorized. Bokmerk permalenken.

3 svar til The terrorist attacks

  1. Elly sier:

    Glad to hear Disney is taking good care of you guys-our thoughts are with you-the Norway pavilion has been my family’s favorite at World Showcase since I was little and it has inspired us to visit the real Norway three times! We love your country and hope to return soon. Take care.

  2. Tilbaketråkk: 22.07.13 | The Norway Pavilion Epcot

Legg igjen en kommentar

