Maelstrom?

Friday was my last day in service, after trying that out for a while.
Its pretty rough being a server at the Norwegian pavilion, because its a pretty popular princess storybook dining location and it have a lot of seating rounds.

Akershus Royal Banquet Hall opens every day at 8 am, before anything else in Epcot, for breakfast with the princesses. From 8am till 08.45 we have 9 seatings, sometimes with a full restaurant. As a server you also get double seated (two tables at the same time, then a short waiting, then two more tables), apparently I can’t handle that as well as others.

I used too much time talking and interacting with the guests, and was too slow to get tables cleaned afterwards. So service was apparently something I couldn’t do… I saved up some money while in service, so I have booked my vacation to New York and Washington DC now and I also have saved up some money that I can use over there.

Im currently looking on the oppurtunity to switch location and work in the ride attraction, Maelstrom, for the rest of my program. And I hope that works out… I don’t think I can do 4 more months in seating.

If Norway would have been a normal restaurant, I think I would enjoy and be good at service, but unfortunately its not. All my guests though have been very satisfied with me, and Ive received only positive guest comments, so it has nothing to do with that…

Om Alexander Sjursæther

This is a blog about my life as a Cultural Representative at the Norwegian Pavillion in Epcot 2011.
Dette innlegget ble publisert i Uncategorized. Bokmerk permalenken.

Legg igjen en kommentar

